Police Accountability Board

Effective July 2022 the Maryland Police Accountability Act will replace the Law Enforcement Officers Bill of Rights (LEOBR) as the system for police discipline. The new act replaces the mostly internal discipline system under LEOBR with this multi-tiered system of external civilian boards.

  • Police Accountability Board – this seven-member board will serve as the overall governing body of the system.
  • Charging Committee – this five-member committee will review complaints and investigations of police misconduct, determine whether an officer should be charged with misconduct, and if charged recommend discipline from the State-created matrix.
  • Trial Board – this three-member board, to be chaired by a retired or administrative law judge, will conduct hearings if an officer does not accept the disciplinary measures recommended by the Charging Committee.

Applications to serve on these boards are available by clicking the Application link below. Send the completed application, along with a letter of interest and a resume outlining any pertinent experience, to PAB@co.worcester.md.us or Worcester County Administration at One West Market Street, Room 1103, Snow Hill, Maryland 21863. Applications will be kept on file and applicants considered when vacancies arise.

To view the past meeting files on the Police Accountability Board please CLICK HERE and you can choose the Police Accountability Board option from the drop down.

Below is a list of members on the Police Accountability Board and the Administrative Charging Committee.

Police Accountability Board Police Charging Committee
  • Jerred A. Johnson
  • Gregory A. Tate
  • John Simms III
  • Mary F. Burgess
  • Carol M. Frazier
  • Joseph J. Theobald
  • Quincy R. Shockley
  • Gregory A. Tate
  • John Simms III
  • Dr. Mark Bowen
  • John Trumpower
  • James Beard

Police Accountability Board Meeting Dates


1 West Market Street, Snow Hill, MD 21863 - Room 1102

January 18, 2024 - 1:00 P.M.
April 18, 2024 - 1:00 P.M.
July 18, 2024 - 1:00 P.M.
October 17, 2024 - 1:00 P.M.