Police Accountability Board Meeting

October 20, 2022

Members present were:

Greg Tate, Chairman Quincy Shockley John Simms III Mary Burgess Joe Theobold Carol Frazier Jerred Johnson

Staff:

Faith Coleman

Law Enforcement:

Andy McGee, Snow Hill Police Department
Matt Owens, Worcester County Fire Marshall
Rob Korb, Worcester County Deputy Fire Marshall
Mike Colbert, Ocean City PD
Shawn Jones, Ocean City PD
Brian Cardamone, Worcester County Sheriff's Office
Nate Passwaters, Worcester County Sheriff's Office
Doug Dods, Worcester County Sheriff's Office
Kris Heiser, State's Attorney
Jeffrey Lawson, Berlin Police Department
Arthur Hancock, Pocomoke City Police Department
Brian Craven, Pocomoke City Police Department

Chairman Greg Tate called the meeting to order and took roll call.

- Agenda for today's meeting was approved by a motion and unanimous vote
- Minutes for the September 15, 2022 meeting was approved by a motion and unanimous vote and will be provided to the County Commissioners as the board's annual report.
- Discussion was held on how the members of the Charging Committee were selected. The
 Charging Committee members consist of the Chair of the Police Accountability Board, two
 civilians chosen directly by the Police Accountability Board and two civilians chosen by the
 County Commissioners.
- Chairman Tate announced the members of the Charging Committee
 - Greg Tate
 - o John Simms III
 - o Dr. Mark Bowen
 - John Trumpower
 - James Beard

- Tate advised that the members of the PAB Charging Committee will be going through a 40-hour training program with the Maryland Police Commission at Wor-Wic Community College in November.
- Tate advised that the Charging Committee has not held a meeting as of yet due to the fact that
 the Board has received no complaints against any officers or agency. The board believes this
 reflects the agencies commitment to hiring qualified officers, their training and leadership
 within the agency.
- Brief discussion was held on the make up of the Trial Board. Tate advised that the Trial Board will be made up of an active or retired Administrative Law Judge appointed by the Commissioners, a civilian who is not a member of the Charging Committee or the Police Accountability Board and a police officer of equal rank to the officer who is accused of misconduct which will be appointed by the head of the law enforcement agency. State's Attorney Kris Heiser, clarified that we currently have a retired Judge that is willing to volunteer for the position.
- The board nominated Joe Theobald to be vice chair of the Police Accountability Board.
- The board discussed and approved future meeting dates as presented with the exception of changing the January 19, 2023 meeting to January 26, 2023.

Being no further discussion by the board or agencies, motion was made and unanimously carried to adjourn the meeting.