Minutes of the County Commissioners of Worcester County, Maryland

April 4, 2018

Special Session

Diana Purnell, President Theodore J. Elder, Vice President (Absent) Anthony W. Bertino, Jr. Madison J. Bunting, Jr. James C. Church Merrill W. Lockfaw, Jr. (Absent) Joseph M. Mitrecic (Absent)

Following a motion by Commissioner Bunting, seconded by Commissioner Bertino, with Commissioners Elder, Lockfaw, and Mitrecic absent, the Commissioners unanimously voted to meet in closed session at 2:04 p.m. in the Commissioners' Conference Room to discuss matters permitted under the provisions of Section 3-305(b)(10) of the General Provisions Article of the Annotated Code of Maryland and to perform administrative functions. Also present at the closed session were Harold L. Higgins, Chief Administrative Officer; Kelly Shannahan, Assistant Chief Administrative Officer; Maureen Howarth, County Attorney; and Kim Moses, Public Information Officer, among other County staff and public safety officers from throughout the County. Topics discussed and actions taken included a roundtable discussion of school safety with stakeholders from the Sheriff's Office, as well as representatives from the Ocean City, Ocean Pines, Berlin, Snow Hill, and Pocomoke Police Departments, Maryland State Police (MSP), Board of Education (BOE), Health Department, Department of Social Services, and Shore Up! Inc.

Commissioners Elder, Lockfaw, and Mitrecic were absent from the meeting.