Worcester County Commissioners elect new president and vice president

On Tuesday, Dec. 5, the Worcester County Commissioners elected Commissioner Diana Purnell as Commission President and elected Commissioner Theodore J. Elder as Vice President. 

Commissioner Purnell was elected County Commissioner in 2014 to represent District Two, the Central District. Prior to being elected president, she served as vice president in 2017. Commissioner Purnell is an inventor who holds two patents, and she has owned and operated a successful business for the past 37 years. She is the former executive director of the Berlin Community Improvement Association and past president of the Worcester County Commission for Women. She is an active member of the Recognition Advisory Committee for the Maryland Commission on Indian Affairs, Atlantic General Hospital Foundation Board, Worcester County Branch of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP), and St. John’s United Methodist Church. Purnell and her husband, Gabe, reside in Berlin. They have two daughters, two grandchildren, and four great grandchildren.

Commissioner Elder was elected County Commissioner in 2014 to represent District Four, the Western District. He represents the Commissioners as Treasurer for the Tri-County Council (TCC) for the Lower Eastern Shore of Maryland, and represents the Commissioners on the Health Planning Advisory Council. Commissioner Elder has been a successful business owner and operator since 1982, and he has served as a Worcester County bus contractor for over 25 years, where he acted as president of the Bus Contractor’s Association for over 20 years. He and his wife, Joyce, reside in Whaleyville. The couple has three children, five grandchildren, and two great grandchildren, with a third on the way.

The Board of Worcester County Commissioners is the seven-member legislative and executive branch of county government. Each Commissioner is elected to serve a four-year term, and one representative is elected from each of the seven election districts. The current board was elected to serve the 2014-2018 term. The County Commissioners meet the first and third Tuesday of each month in the Worcester County Government Center in Snow Hill. 

For more information, please contact Kim Moses, public information officer, at (410) 632-1194.