Worcester County Commissioners elect president and vice president

On Tuesday, Dec. 4, the 2018-2022 Board of Worcester County Commissioners took the oath of office. The new board includes incumbents Diana Purnell, representing the Central District – District Two; James C. “Bud” Church, representing the Sinepuxent District – District Three; Theodore J. Elder, representing the Western District – District Four; Anthony W. “Chip” Bertino, Jr., representing the Ocean Pines District – District Five; Madison J. Bunting, Jr. representing the Northern District – District Six; and Joseph M. Mitrecic representing the Ocean City District – District Seven; and newly-elected member Joshua C. Nordstrom, representing the Southern District – District One.

The new board’s first official act was to re-elect Commissioner Purnell as president and to elect Commissioner Mitrecic as vice president through December 2019.

Commissioners Mitrecic and Purnell have served since being elected to office in 2014. As president, Commissioner Purnell will chair board meetings. Though she will neither make nor second motions, she retains her ability to vote on each of the issues reviewed by the board. As vice president, Commissioner Mitrecic shall assume the duties of the president in Commissioner Purnell’s absence. 

For more information about the County Commissioners, please contact Kim Moses, public information officer, at (410) 632-1194.